How to Request a Guardianship

To ask a court for guardianship of a child, you must first file a Petition for Guardianship of a Minor
Child (“Petition™)! at the Chancery Court Clerk’s office in the county in which the child resides or
is present at the time the proceeding commences.? Your Petition must include a basis for the
guardianship, so you must state under oath that a guardianship is in the child’s best interest and
that one of the following three situations exists:

(1) each parent of the child consents to the guardianship;

(2) all parental rights of the parents have been terminated; OR

(3) there is clear and convincing evidence that no parent of the child is willing or able to take

care of the child, or exercise the powers the court has been asked to grant the guardian.?

Additional information must be provided to the court, including the following:
(1) You must provide an affidavit under the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and
Enforcement Act (Title 93, Chapter 27, Mississippi Code of 1972) and must also include:
(a) The name and address of any attorney for the parents of the minor;
(b) The reason guardianship is sought and would be in the best interest of the minor;
(c) Your name and address and the reason you should be selected; and
(d)If the minor has property other than personal effects, a general statement of the minor’s
property with an estimate of its value.*
And,
(2) You must disclose to the court whether you have been:
(a) A debtor in a bankruptcy, insolvency, or receivership proceeding; or
(b)Have been convicted of:
(i) A felony;
(i) A crime involving dishonesty, neglect, violence, or use of physical force; or
(i) Other crime relevant to the functions you would assume as guardian.’

After you have filed the petition, you will then need to schedule a hearing with the Court
Administrator and have a Rule 81 Summons issued by the Chancery Court Clerk for each of the
following people:
(1) The child, but only if the child will be 14 years of age or older on the day of the hearing;
(2) Each parent of the child who can be found with reasonable diligence; if the parents are
deceased, then the adult nearest in kinship to the child who can be found with reasonable
diligence; AND
(3) Each person who had the care or custody of the child for at least 60 days during the 6
months before you filed the Petition.

! Fillable forms for guardianship of a minor child can be found at https://mjc.olemiss.edu/gap-act/. The Petition is
listed as “Petition for Appointment Minor pro se.” Since the form includes required language for a guardianship,
make sure you add all of the details needed in the blanks.

2 Miss. Code. Ann. § 93-20-106(1)(a). If there is a case already open in another county concerning the custody of the
child, then the Petition for Guardianship must be filed in that county. A link to the Mississippi Code Annotated can
be found here: https://www.msatjc.org/preparing-for-court.

3 Miss. Code. Ann. § 93-20-201(2)(c).

4 Miss. Code. Ann. § 93-20-202(2).

3> Miss. Code. Ann. § 93-20-117.



You must then have each person served with the Summons and a copy of the Petition.® However,
you, as the Petitioner, cannot serve anyone. It is recommended that you hire the sheriff’s
department or a process server to serve them.

You must attend the hearing. The child will also be required to attend the hearing, but the court
may excuse the child’s attendance. In order to excuse the child’s attendance, the court will hold a
hearing to consider whether clear and convincing evidence has been supplied that:

(1) The minor consistently and repeatedly refused to attend the hearing after being fully
informed of the right to attend; if the child is 14 years of age or older, he or she must also
be advised of the potential consequences of not attending.

(2) There is no practical way for the child to attend;

(3) The child lacks the ability or maturity to participate meaningfully in the hearing; or

(4) Attendance would be harmful to the minor.”

You will likely be required to testify at the hearing as to why you are seeking the guardianship and
your ability to care for the child. You might also be asked to testify about the facts in your Petition.
The court might also hear testimony from the child. If you are representing yourself, you will need
to be prepared to conduct your case and demonstrate the necessary items with admissible proof.
There are resources on this website that can help you: https://www.msatjc.org/preparing-for-court.

At the end of the hearing, the court will advise you whether or not the guardianship will be granted.
If you are representing yourself, you should be prepared to draft and present an order to the court
based on the court’s decision. Alternatively, the court may take the matter under advisement and
issue its own written decision at a later time.

The information above is meant to give you an overview of how to request a guardianship of a
child. It does not cover all steps that pertain to a guardianship. To understand better the
guardianship procedure, please refer to the Mississippi Code, Title 93, Chapter 20, Sections 201
to 210, which can be found at this link: https://www.msatjc.org/preparing-for-court.

6 People under categories 2 and 3 can sign a waiver of service, but the child can never waive service.
7 Miss. Code. Ann. § 93-20-205(1)-(2).
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